OpenICE at Abrons

November 10, 2016  8 PM, Abrons Underground
OpenICE Concert: Strange Attractors, curated by ICE violinist Josh Modney
Georges Aperghis: Rasch for viola and saxophone (US PREMIERE)
Natacha Diels: Strange Attractors for piccolo, percussion and sampler
Evan Johnson: L’art de toucher le clavecin for piccolo, violin and percussion
Andrew Greenwald: A Thing is a Hole in a Thing it is Not for violin solo (WORLD PREMIERE)
Guillaume Dufay: Adieu m’amour, adieu ma joie arranged for voice, viola and cello
Mathias Spahlinger: “Adieu m’amour”, Hommage à Guillaume Dufay for violin and cello 

November 11, 2016 — 2-5 PM, Abrons Underground
Electronic Instrument Workshop
Members of ICE will be joined by members of the community as ICE sound engineer, percussionist and composer Levy Lorenzo begins his OpenICE commission with a workshop on new instruments and a discussion of possibilities for a new, modular piece.

November 11, 2016 — 6 PM, Abrons Underground
Lorenzo Workshop Performance
Preview the work, scheduled to be premiered in its entirety in the spring of 2017, and engage in a Q&A with the artists.

November 12, 2016 — 2-4 PM, Abrons Underground
OpenICE Commissionee Workshop: Monte Weber
In the first of two process-based workshops, discover the music of young composer Monte Weber, and witness the launch of a year-long collaborative commissioning project. Weber will play samples of his music, discuss instrumentation possibilities and divulge initial sketches or ideas for the new work, scheduled to be premiered upon completion in 2017. 

November 12, 2016 — 6 PM, Abrons Studio 201 Second Floor
ICECommons Demo Session and Pizza Party
ICE will host an informal demonstration of the crowd-sourced archiving platform ICEcommons. The event is open to composers and performers who are interested in presenting their works to each other in a casual atmosphere which fosters new relationships and a greater awareness for the works of underrepresented composers around the world. Composers will have the opportunity to describe their work and create entries on the ICEommons archive. Join us for pizza in the lobby before the evening concert. 

November 12, 2016 — 8 PM, Abrons Underground
OpenICE Concert: Dancing in the Underworld
Monte Weber: Echo for saxophone, percussion and electronics (ICEcommons selection)
Camilla Agosto: Listen to me as one listens to the rain for flute, saxophone and percussion (ICEcommons selection)
Clara Iannotta: Limun for violin, viola and two page turners (US Premiere)
Katherine Young – Underworld (Dancing) for tuba and Wurlitzer
Matthias Kaul: SUNFISH for voice and percussion (US Premiere)